The surroundings of Pałac Alexandrinum offer an unforgettable experience close to nature, with forests, cycling routes and interesting historic landmarks.
The park surrounding the hotel is the remains of a landscape park established at the turn of the 18th and 19th century, featuring a round pond, near the ruins of the manor (1st half of the 19th century) of Stanisław Grabowski – the Minister of Religious Beliefs and Public Enlightenment.
A tour around the area of the hotel offers a unique encounter with history.
In the nearby Okuniewo, you can see the parish cemetery from the 19th century and the Monument of Soldiers who died in Okuniewo in 1920.
Poświętne attracts numerous visitors with a brick roadside chapel built around the mid-19th century. Inside, you can find a sculpture of Crucified Christ, originating from the 18th century.
In addition, you can visit the grave of the Lelewel family, who used to own Wola Cygowska. It can be found in the parish cemetery.
Sulejówek is famous for the Milusin Villa. The establishment witnessed many political events in the interwar period, and was the residence of the Chief of State, Józef Piłsudski.
The Villa was built by the Polish Soldier’s Committee in 1921, according to the design of Kazimierz Skórzewski. It is best known as the residence of Józef Piłsudski, who was staying there with his family between 1923-35. It was an intimate location for the Marshall. In Sulejówek, he spent his time with his wife Aleksandra (the original owner of the estate) and his daughters, Wanda and Jagoda, while trying to distance himself from the political turmoil in the country. Here, he played cards and chess while drinking gallons of strong, sweet tea.
Apart from that, in Sulejówek we can see the monument of Marshall Józef Piłsudski and the Garden of Memory of Children who were victims of the Nazi Auschwitz-Birkenau camp.
In Wołomin, visitors should not miss "Dom nad Łąkami" ("House by the Meadows") – the family residence of Zofia Nałkowska – and a well-known literary salon from the turn of the 19th and 20th century. In Wołomin, we can also find "Dom Pod Akacjami" ("House by Acacia Trees") built in 1883 in the Siberian Baroque style.
Another important landmark is the late-Renaissance Palace in Chrzęsne. It was built in 1635 for Stefan Dobrogost Grzybowski, the Staroste of Warsaw and Kamieńczyk and the Castellan of Lublin. The estate was later connected to great noble families, such as Kotarbiński, Karski, Maszyński, Koskowski. At the end of the 19th century, Władysław Podkowiński would come here to engage in outdoor painting sessions.
In Dąbrówka, we find the Church of the Elevation of the Holy Cross designed by Zygmunt Twarowski. It is a neo-Gothic, single-nave church. Most of the church’s furnishings originate from the 18th century. The church holds memorial founder plates, liturgical vestments from the 17th-18th century, while at the parish office, we can find the birth certificate of Cyprian Kamil Norwid.
The funeral chapel was erected in 1881, while the wooden presbytery decorated with carved ornaments was added in 1898. The courtyard was decorated with unique, colourful stained glass.
The old cemetery and the roadside chapels in Dąbrówka – are also landmarks from the 19th century. In the parish church, we can find graves from mid-19th century, where the priests from this parish and the owners of the nearby villages – such as Guzowatka, Ślężany, Małopole - found their final resting place. You can see many roadside chapels along the local roads. The ones that are over 100 years old create a unique element of the Masovian landscape.
In Jadów, we find the parish Church of the Finding of the Holy Cross, built in the neo-Gothic style (in the former location of wooden churches) between 1882-1886, according to the design of Józef Pius Dziekoński, who designed numerous churches in the Masurian region and the rest of the country. Inside, we find a Rococo pipe organ, an old wardrobe, two 18th-century Baroque statues of putti, sitting on the plinth of the choir balustrade, created in Silesia. We can also see 18th-century liturgical vestments. Birth records dating back to 1632 are kept at the presbytery.
The neo-Gothic chapel by the parish cemetery, erected at the end of the 19th century, holds a painting depicting Christ in his grave, painted by Miłosz Kotarbiński and late-classicist sandstone gravestone of Fryderyka Kotarbińska from the Ditz family (who passed away in 1863).
Here, we can also find a mansion complex of the Kotarbiński family from the second half of the 19th century. The building, as we can see it today, was erected after 1860. The Kotarbiński family owned the estate until it was repossessed by the state treasury in 1945. It is surrounded by outbuildings, manor back premises, granary and a barn.
Near Jadów, we can find few preserved gravestones from the Jewish cemetery and the cemetery of Scottish settlers from the 19th century.
Klembów is a brick parish church of Saint Clement, erected between 1823-1829 in the former location of an old wooden church. It was consecrated by Bishop Klemens Pierzchała from Płock during the Reign of Casimir the Great. The church was funded by Gen. Franciszek Żymirski, owner of the Klembów estate. The general’s remains were buried in the family crypt at the church. Between 1885-1894, the church was rebuilt. The church furnishings date back to the 18th and 19th century. The wooden, quadrilateral belfry was erected in the 1st half of the 19th century.